top of page

Colombia Project updates

Well! I made it to Highland View Academy and got all moved in. I jumped straight into teaching the GRIGG’s U.S. Government program to 5 Brazilian students. It was super intense but ended up being fun! I led a day long tour in Washington DC, and we had a blast! After the class ended and the students went back to Brazil my job got a little easier and I spend a lot more time with the dorm students as the assistant dean. Being an assistant dean has definitely shown me that I need more patience, and pushed me to grow in many ways.

While being here in Maryland I have gotten in contact with a lot of different pastors in Colombia and finally settled on a mission project location. I will be going on a mission trip from March 12 through April 2 to Fundación Magdalena in Colombia. I will be leading another church building project there on my own this time. I’ve been in contact with the local conference and pastor of the area and he is working on getting the needed volunteers, places to stay and eat, insurance, and invitation letters for the project. And I have been spending a lot of time these past few weeks in prayer, as well as a few days fasting. I’m a little nervous to lead this project by myself, but I’m praying that God will give me wisdom and peace of mind. Out of the $8,000 I am praying for to do this trip, so far I have raised around $2,500. The project still needs around $5,500 that will go directly for the materials, and tools to build this church. If you wouldn’t mind putting this on your daily prayer list it would be greatly appreciated!

I’ve been in contact with the pastor and he says that they have 40 members that have been part of the church group for quite some time now, and they haven’t had any building to worship in. This will be their first church. He is super excited for this opportunity to be part of building the church with the members and is very involved.

I’m thankful that the principal and head dean here at Highland View have allowed me to take the time for this trip, even missing about a week of work. I’m thankful for the prayers that my friends and family have already been sending up for this project, as well as the support and connections from a lot of missionary friends. I’m down to just over 3 weeks before I head out, and my nerves are already kicking in. It’s easy to get discouraged when I think of all that I don’t know, or that I’m still learning. I get nervous when I see the finances and that I’m still missing a huge portion. But! In my morning devotions, consistently, God has been pounding it into my head that I need more faith. He keeps saying that He is in control, that He will provide. And in the end, worrying doesn’t do anything positive at all. It can't add money to the fund, it can't get me materials, or anything... it’s pointless. All I can do is everything in my power to prepare myself and the project, knowing that God will provide. He owns all the money in the world, and he can touch people's hearts.

This whole assistant dean and mission project leader thing has really pushed me a lot. I don’t think I’ve ever been this nervous, or restless in my life. But, if you’re not moving forward, you are probably moving backwards right?

I also have accepted and been registered in the SMAT (School of Missionary Aviation Technology) mechanics program starting this fall. And have accepted a job working at Camp AuSable for my last summer. I can't wait for the opportunity to work with the youth and try and show them unique ways that they can use their skills for Christ.

I still have not heard back from the FAA, but will be calling soon to see what the status of all my paperwork is. God will continue to lead, and it’s all going to be alright because He is in control.

Thanks for the continued support and prayers and hopefully next month's blog will be full of miracles of how God provided the money for the project and provided for us as we build a church to worship Him in.

bottom of page